Babble On

 

He must become greater; I must become less.” John 3:30

I am sure many of you have heard of the Tower of Babel in the Old Testament(See Genesis 11) about when mankind got too high and mighty and thought they did not need God. He therefore confused their languages so they could not try to become greater than God. I was thinking of that recently as I said something to a family at a table next to me at a local establishment and was looked at with perplexed stares. I realized they spoke Chinese or a similar dialect. I just smiled. We are a world of different languages now mostly English being the universal one.

God is pretty clear that we are not to exalt ourselves over Him. Many instances in scripture speak of that fact. My verse for today is simple in that it says God must be greater. That is a tall order in the selfie obsessed society we live in. Dying to self is a foreign concept to many. It’s all about me, me, me!

When you ‘babble on’ in your day to day comings and goings do you ever even think of talking about the wonderful works of the Lord or stop to ponder His greatness. Many are caught up in babbling about their activities, their achievements, their jobs, and a host of other things not that that is bad but the point being is God gave you a voice. Do you ever stop and praise Him with it?

PRAYER: Lord I say I love you and say you are first but then do I follow through with my actions? Forgive me for being a Christian in name only. Help me use the voice you gave me to lift your name on high! In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Click on link below for a song of praise and thanksgiving:

 

Leave a comment